pistolgear.com Logo text
Striker Retaining Pin (Coiled) Reviews for the product - Striker Retaining Pin (Coiled) (Back to product)
 
 
24 Product Reviews - Average rating 5 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

Good insurance

- 19th March 2017

I have 3000+ rounds through my XDm and never had an issue with the factory pin. But when I pulled it out, I can see that it takes a beating. These coiled replacements are inexpensive enough that I put one in for good measure. Easy.

Side note: The description states the material is "passivated". Stainless is corrosion-resistant, but free iron on the surface (from various processing steps) and open grain boundaries can lead to corrosion. Passivation removes the free iron and adds a thin, protective oxide layer. Is this important on this part? Maybe. One pin end is open to the environment. So unless you only shoot indoors or in sunny weather, the pin will eventually get wet - and may trap water. So passivation is probably warranted.


They work very well

- 17th June 2016

I just received my pins today and they fit perfectly into the slide. It's very clear to tell that they are far superior to the OEM roll pin that comes in the slide from the factory. Installed the new pin with ease and the pistol passed the "pencil test" (place a pencil in an UNLOADED firearm, so the eraser touches the firing pin block, make sure it is cocked, and squeeze the trigger...if you are getting a positive strike, the pencil should "fly" out of the barrel [fly is used loosely]).

I bought three pins just to have a couple of extras on hand, but I don't see this one breaking or failing any time soon.


Peace of Mind!

- 11th May 2016

Ordering from Pistolgear is always a pleasure!

I told friends about this and ended up ordering 7 ... takes all of 5 minutes to change out. I ended up doing both sons, mine and three of my friends.


MUCH BETTER

- 02nd April 2016

Much better than the factory roll pin. I picked up 2 just for the heck of it. Superior quality, easy to install and GREAT service as usual from Pistol Gear. THANKS!!!!

Striker retaining pin replacement

- 13th February 2016

Works great and easy to replace.

excellent service!

- 10th February 2015

I had ordered these parts as backup to my original retainer pin. Better to be safe then sorry! The service was great, shipping was fast!

Great job
Pistol Gear!


Why not?

- 24th December 2014

Considering the price of the part and the peace of mind it offers, I don't see why one wouldn't pick some up. I've upgraded my pin and my father's with these. I suggest placing placing an order for a few of these when you decide to get them.
Thanks for the great products, PG


Great part

- 18th November 2014

This part looks a lot more durable than the factory part. Fit and function are flawless. For $ 2 you really can't go wrong.

good

- 22nd September 2014

seems very durable. be sure your punch is long enough

Striker retaining pin WIN!

- 09th September 2014

I too found my striker pin deformed when removing. Feel much better about having this replacement installed.

Worthwhile up-grade !!!

- 19th June 2014

I am the owner of XD9 tactical, XD9 Service and XD 357 Service. While replacing all 3 retaining pins I found that my XD tactical stock pin was fatigued and warped. The other 2 were ok but replaced all 3 due to the fact that the replacement coiled pins are superior in strength compared to the factory pins. thanks!!!

A Must Have Part for the XD / XDM

- 11th June 2014

The XD / XDm platform is already a very rugged and durable pistol but having this part made it even MORE rugged and durable. Definitely a must have for all XD/XDm owners.

Great replacement

- 31st May 2014

I just received this pin to replace the factory one in my XDSC. I messed up the factory one removing it so I ordered this as a replacement. The pin went it with little effort. They have a very slight taper on the ends which aid in installation. great part

Nice

- 19th April 2014

Great quality and easy to install

Awesome

- 01st November 2013

This pin is far more sturdy and structurally sound then the OEM one and at a great price

Must HAVE

- 21st October 2013

A MUST HAVE FOR SURE FOR ALL XDM OWNERS.

outstanding

- 16th October 2013

This should be the stock part, a huge improvement over the weak roll pin from SA. It was easy to install with the proper tools and gives me peace of mind knowing its much less likely to fail.

Worth it

- 03rd August 2013

Two buck to not have to worry about a broken or bent stock unit is sooo worth it. Be sure to use a roll pin punch to avoid damage or an ugly oops on your slide.

Far Superior Striker Retainer Pin

- 09th July 2013

I just installed this on my XDM 40. Way better than the stock pin. This is how SA should have built the pistol from factory. I originally ordered for the "just in case factor." Well I'm here to tell ya get that stock pin OUT! I inspected the stock one once out, and yep there was a crack in it! I'm glad I ordered it! Thanks PistolGear for prompt service and on time shipping.

SNUG!

- 19th June 2013

product was kind of snug, but overall very sturdy cant wait to use and abuse to see how long it lasts.

A must have

- 12th June 2013

I love my XD but always worried about the retainer pin breaking when I need it most (Murphy's Law). This replacement does so well Springfield should stop using the factory one and install this at time of assembly

Great upgrade

- 27th April 2013

Easy install, cheapest and most needed upgrade to any XD

Striker Pin

- 11th March 2013

Great Product!!
spend the 2 bucks and you have 0 worries about this ever breaking


Perfect fit!

- 10th March 2013

I purchased this pin from PistolGear and had it installed in my XDM five days later. The pin fits perfectly and I can tell why it is stronger than the factory part. I feel a lot more confident in my gun now. Thanks PistolGear!!

Click to review this product

RELATED PRODUCTS

Aluminum Striker Spring Guide (silver)

List Price: $10.99
Price: $9.99
Aluminum Striker Spring Guide (black)

List Price: $10.99
Price: $9.99
paternity