pistolgear.com Logo text
PistolGear Slide Stop for XD & XDm (BLACK) Reviews for the product - PistolGear Slide Stop for XD & XDm (BLACK) (Back to product)
 
 
51 Product Reviews - Average rating 4.7 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)

Click to review this product

XD Service 9mm

- 14th October 2018

I'm a lefty, so most guns are obnoxious if they weren't designed full ambi. That said, this slide release is much easier to manipulate than the factory version. When I shoot off-hand it's just awesome.

Awesome addition

- 01st June 2018

Yet another great addition to my Limited 10 gun. Easy install, perfect length. If you have a Magloc thumb rest it must be removed for this to fit and work properly. I would definitely recommend this to anyone needing a longer stop for shorter thumbs.

Must Have

- 29th July 2017

I have one on my XDs and just put this PG037 on my XD Mod 2 9mm. The PG037 does NOT fit the XD Mod 2 45 cap 4" service model. Dot that one you need the PG038 for the XDm 45 ACP. Can't wait till those are back in stock.

These make dropping the slide fast and easy.


XD45 ACP Sub Compact Mod.2

- 27th October 2016

Awesome upgrade and easy install!

AWESOME UPGRADE!!

- 05th July 2016

Very functional extended slide stop for the XDS. Makes using the slide stop VERY easy now, does not require a lot of effort and my thumb doesn't hurt anymore! Build quality is top notch, looks like it came from the factory! I watched the install video, it only took me two minutes to do it! Very pleased

Love It

- 17th April 2016

This is one of those parts where once you have it on your XD you wonder how you lived without it. Such a simple upgrade yet so very worth it, turns a two handed operation into a one hand deal, sped up my reloads considerably.

PistolGear Slide Stop

- 11th February 2016

I think this could be better, it works with one hand but rather sharp. Could be made more like Glock models that are wider and less sharp on the edges. [PG NOTE: Thank you for sharing your comments. This is the first we have heard of such an issue. We will gladly soften the edges you feel are sharp and recoat the part at no cost to you. You are also welcome to return the part if you are not fully satisfied with its design. Please contact our Support Team via email for further information.

Pistol Gear Slide Stop

- 05th April 2015

I have purchased five of these and can say it is a product that you will wonder why you didn't purchase one sooner.
The XDS 45 was almost impossible to operate prior to installation due to the heavy recoil spring. The install takes less time to do than it takes to tell about it.
The PG staff are great people to work with and delivery takes about two days.


Righteous!

- 24th December 2014

Now I don't have to shift my grip at all to drop my slide. Thanks PG!

10x better than the factory part

- 09th September 2014

I have been using this slide stop for a few years now, on a pistol that is used for competitions. I bought it when I first saw it on PistolGear's web site. It broke last week so I contacted PistolGear. I was going to buy a new one, but I figured I would see if there was a warranty on it. I didn't want to pay for it twice, as it isn't an inexpensive part. However, I would have paid for another if necessary because I like it so much and it has worked flawlessly for many competitions. Even though the part eventually gave out, it is still worth using. For all I know, the factory part may not have lasted any longer with the use I put on my pistol.

I reinstalled the factory part this week, but there is no comparison to the PistolGear upgrade. If I buy another XD, it will get this slide stop immediately.

PistolGear stepped up and took care of me with exceptional customer service. I also run their big magwell and rubber slam pads, and they have been perfect. The Blade-Tech holster and mag holders from PistolGear are still going strong after 6+ years of competition use. My next purchase will be an aftermarket guide rod assembly and springs, when they are in stock again.


Thumbs Up ( No Pun Intended! )

- 25th July 2014

I like the fact my thumb will not inadvertently close the slide by pressing down on the slide stop and the Pistol Gear part is comfortable to use.
Great addition, fast shipping!!
Thank You Pistol Gear!!


Must Have

- 30th April 2014

I have smaller hands. So I purchased this and installed it on my XDM. I do not have to shift my grip now to release the slide any longer. I had carpal tunnel surgery and neuropathy from chemo and my thumbs are weaker then most. The extention gives the extra leverage to make it effortless now to release the slide. It also makes it so your thumb does not want to ride on the release any longer, there is nothing there for your thumb to want to rest on. This solved my problem completely and made me quicker on reloads. See my review on the extended mag release, also a cannot live without add on. Wish I could add pictures.

Ordered one, reordered two more

- 28th January 2014

I have a medium size hand and double stack mags challenge my ability to reach mag and slide releases. I ordered this slide release for my cc XD40. I thought it looked fragile being so thin but I was wrong.

It is long so that I can easily reach it and provides increased leverage to release the slide easily. The serrations are sharp enough that your thumb has a good grip on a thin lever.

It took me about 90 seconds to install. It took me longer to grab my tools then to actually replace the part. Watching a video or step by step pictures clarifies what you need to do.

I was so confident and pleased with this improved part I just ordered two more for my XD9 and XD45. I highly recommend this lever with regard to quality of build, design, and effectiveness.


XDs 45 ACP

- 12th January 2014

What a nice addition to my XDs...I can now release the slide with ease and speed. Especially if my support hand is out of commission. Thanks PistolGear for having this product.

The definitive improved slide release

- 09th November 2013

Well worth it.

It broke but they quickly replaced it.

- 06th October 2013

I installed this without difficulty and it worked great for about 2,000 rounds. Then one day while shooting the slide kept locking back even with rounds in the mag. Taking it apart, I found that this part had broken in two and was loose within the gun causing the slide to lock. I contacted Pistol Gear and without hesitation or question they sent me a new one immediately. So it broke but their service in immediately replacing it was excellent! I can't complain much. I hope the new one holds out! [PG NOTE: The product currently shipping has some changes over the GEN1 release that broke on you. Breakage is few and far between. Thanks for working with us. ]

Great product

- 12th July 2013

Part shipped fast and came as advertised. Fit and function is great installed in less than 5 min. For me when I grip the pistol my thumb always wanted to land on the original release,so when the mag would go dry the slide would not always lock back.
Problem solved! Thanks guys.


Better than OEM

- 01st April 2013

Its better than the OEM part. The link to the directions worked great. In full disclosure, I've never owned a gun before and have never tried to do anything to it yet. It was straight forward and took 4-5 minutes being careful. I really enjoy the form of the new part. The function is as advertised, but the form of it is where it stands out. The extra leverage is only a marginal improvement to release the slide, but I think it was worth it.

Works great .45 Tactical

- 08th June 2012

Why say it doesn't fit .45? It works great on my .45 Tactical XD that I use in USPSA Limited division. Wonderful product. Makes it easy to lock back slide, and to release the slide one handed when necessary.

Highly recommend

- 01st January 2012

I was unsure how this would look and whether it was worth the money. Now that it's installed (which was easy) I love it. The look and feel is excellent, and if they ever make one available for the 45acp I'm getting one for that pistol too. Take a chance and give this a try, it's a great upgrade.

Perfect for my needs

- 20th November 2011

My wife has small hands and a little arthritis in her right thumb, racking her 5.25 inch XDM 9mm without pain requires hr to hold the pistol I a way that makes it difficult to actuate the factory slide stop. This product solved the problem perfectly. It installed in about a minute and th fit and finish are just great. Actuating the stop is no different than the factory one in terms of tightness. No fitting was required. Yes, a little expensive, but, if you need it, well worth the money.

Slide stop

- 19th November 2011

I installed it like the posts showed. No problem installing. But, I looked at some other reviews and probably will have to polish it a bit to get it to work smoothly. It is kinda hard at the moment. It will probably work fine after.

Outstanding

- 19th November 2011

I don't have to shift my grip to release the slide any longer. took 2 minutes to install.

Great product (might require some fitting)

- 09th October 2011

A vast improvement over the factory slide stop, fit and finish is impecable. However when I first installed mine I found that it was almost impossible to release the slide (required a great deal of pressure on the part to release the slide) FIX; easily acomplished with a hone and a polishing wheel on my dremel, cleaning up the engagement surface and slightly breaking the corner with a smooth polish made this part what it should be. Don't get me wrong, I like mine and plan to keep it on my XD 5" tactical .40 just wish they had spent a little more time focusing on the functionality aspect as well. If you have some gunsmithing skills don't shy away from this part, it is well worth the upgrade !

Great Slide Stop

- 27th September 2011

Easily installed, much more comfortable and better positive control of the stop-I had to wrestle with the OEM part to lock the slide. In my opinion, the stop enhances the overall look of the XD. Finish issue previously identified appears to be fixed. I highly recommend this stop as an upgrade.

a must have

- 17th March 2011

Yhis is the first part i've ever installed with the help of the manual puchased from pistol gear took about 15min makes releasing the slide with no hand rotation a breeze as whell as pushing the lever up to catch the slide easier and have had no problems with the new finish and it matches the factory black slide finish whell

Excellent

- 15th March 2011

I wasn't having problems pushing the slide stop when it was empty I just didn't like feel if the oem one. With the pistol gear slide stop I can hold my grip better with my thumb underneath the stop.

Great design... again, poor finish

- 25th January 2011

With my high, thumbs forward grip, sometimes the "drumbstick" portion of my thumb on the (left) support hand would hold down the factory slide stop, causing it to not lock back on an empty mag. This eliminates that problem. It is also a lot easier to manually lock the slide back with the trigger finger when shooting left handed.

The finish will literally rub right off. I just dunked it in acetone to strip the whole finish off and refinished it myself. The design is great, but I hope enough comments on the finish will lead to using a different one (even standard bluing would be a major improvement.) [PG NOTE: We have resolved the finish issue for this part. ]

Overall it's a solid upgrade and I'll probably eventually pick up a couple more for my other XDs.


Functions well, Poor Finish

- 21st January 2011

Received quickly and very easy to install. It is an improvement and doesn't snag on anything. The finish is very poor. I used a sharpie to touch it up and that is lasting longer the the actual finish. (PG Note: We are looking into our finish process to see what we can do to improve on it. Thanks for the feedback)

Didn't notice much of a difference

- 18th January 2011

Installed this on an XD 45 in about 60 seconds so installation wasn't a problem. My problem is that it doesn't stick out any further than the stock slide stop and it's only slightly longer. It would probably work much better on a 9mm or 40 caliber pistol but it doesn't help at all on the XD 45. As mentioned in one of the other reviews, the finish isn't great. I've had it on my gun for less than 12 hours and it's already showing wear.

Click to review this product

« Previous | 1 | 2 | »
paternity